With Easter around the corner, I’m here to share some tips on how to make lots of dishes vegan! Lots of holiday recipes call for milk or butter, but lucky us! We live in an era where vegan substitutes for non-vegan items are becoming more accessible and taste better than in the past.
Here are some tips to a vegan or dairy-free holiday:
You can create a vegan form of a recipe by swapping out dairy milk for unsweetened, original soy milk!
You can also do this with butter by using Earth Balance spread or stick instead. Also, check the ingredients of some margarines for “Contains Milk,” because some margarines are made with milk, but some use olive oil or soy ingredients instead, like Country Crock Calcium plus Vitamin D spread.
Vegan candy for Easter baskets! Sour Patch Kids, Swedish Fish, Air Heads, Dots, Mike and Ikes, Smarties, Dum Dums, Fireball, Jolly Ranchers, and Blow Pop! Most dark chocolates don’t contain milk, but always double check the label. Justin’s Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter cups are vegan and Target’s vegan chocolate selection has been expanding!